First Project

TORX

Administrator
Staff member
Website Admin
Website
www.thefragtank.ca
I am new to salt water set ups and currently only have a 20gal with about 30lbs of live rock and crushed coral for subsrate. Running a Prizm Pro Deluxe protein skimmer with a surface skimmer and refillable media basket for biological and chemical media. Purchased the whole set up for about $100.00 on kijiji. I only have a clown fish in it at the moment, but am looking to upgrade when my current project is completed. When completed, it will be a breakfast nook / bar to divide my livingroom and kitchen. I believe it will be a 60 gal tank. Will post pics as they come available, but at a halt due to finances at the moment until after Christmas.

2hzqxir.jpg

fa0s95.jpg

TORX

Administrator
Staff member
Website Admin
Website
www.thefragtank.ca
ricklalonde link said:
Looks like your off to a great start. Is your new system going to include a sump?

PS. Keep them pictures rolling. 

There is a closet right beside where this is going, so will be piping a sump in there at some point. But we all know the expenses involved in an initial set up. Plus, I do not want to go to big in the beginning. Start small and work my way up slowly so I do not get overwhelmed with the work involved. I have had fresh water tanks my whole life, so I somewhat know what I am getting into. But salt water is a completely different road.

JordanHurst

Looks like a great idea! Is the tank going to be sitting in the bottom part!?
Its gonna look really cool when done to have a tank like that!  Make sure you have easy access to get in and out!! Always something to clean or do in the tank! My canopy hangs above my tank with little room to get in when I put it up and it is a HASSEL!! sometimes cant even get a big rock out without taking the whole thing down and laying it on the floor!! haha Bad design!!!!

Good Luck!!!

TORX

Administrator
Staff member
Website Admin
Website
www.thefragtank.ca