Ghl Vs. Apex? The People Have Spoken..

BIGSHOW

Super Active Member
Website Affiliate
Website
www.bigshowfrags.com
Everyone always asks me why I use profilux vs Apex. I always tell them the Profilux has been doing what the apex has done for 10 years before the Apex even came out. GHL is far better quality with equipment you know will not be obsolete with the next new product. I have been using my profilux (older model) for just over 10 years, absolutely zero issues...and when you rely on a controller to keep your expensive living creatures safe, why settle for second best?

Here is a great unbiased thread on Reef2Reef. The masses speak for themselves. I welcome everyone to do there own research, but it's always the same conclusion.

PROFILUX OVER APEX!

https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/opinions-on-controller-upgrade-2016-apex-or-ghl.328727/page-3

Profilux is the best, and will always be the best choice for full automation.

Salty Cracker

Administrator
Staff member
Website Admin
I'd love to have a full crazy setup of this stuff someday, if I had say $10,000 to drop on everything to replace the system I have. It's neat, looks like the equipment from a late 90's operating room.

Not really fair to compare these to either an apex or a reefkeeper, totally different monster.

**I should add that I was comparing the apex classic, with 8-outlet power bar, display and orp/ph probes ($700 CAN tax/shipped) to the "ultimate" which has head unit, 6 outlet power bar, display and 4 probes for $1359CAN (plus tax/shipping).

As BIGSHOW pointed out, if you compare to the new 2106 apex, it's over ~$1000 CAN and you really don't get anything with it, so it's on par with the new V4 mega which is $50 less.

Both points I feel are valid, as you can still buy a brand new "classic" apex (which I did a couple of weeks ago).

Last edited:

BIGSHOW

Super Active Member
Website Affiliate
Website
www.bigshowfrags.com