MissMere

Hello Everyone!

Skip down to the "New Tank Projects" if you want to skip my whole story rant.

I'm back! Last winter I became very excited to start a reef tank and was conducting lots of research and I came across this awesome forum and resource!

On March 12th, I was assaulted while walking my two smaller dogs. I received a fairly significant blow to the head as I turned a corner of bushes in a park. I immediately went "rugby mode" on him and got one solid kick into the side of his legs while screaming expletives. As an elementary school teacher I can tell you I struggle to say the word "shit" out loud, but I gave him everything foul and threatening I could think of. I still had my dogs leashes wrapped in my hands and my bigger of the two dogs was limping a bit, still not sure if I kicked him by accident or he slipped during the incident.

I was not seriously injured, with the exception of a rather severe concussion, and to add onto things, this was my 4th concussion, and 2nd serious one in less then 3 years. I ended up being hospitalized for 3 days, was going to be an overnight observation, but turned into a longer stay because I had an allergic reaction to the pain medication - wonderful.

This concussion has been a real struggle on many levels. I was unable to work for the rest of March and into April.

Here out the other side, things finally feel on the up and up. During this time my freshwater tanks became very neglected, and it wasn't until about 2 weeks ago I decided to actually get back into the hobby that I love. Lots of good things are coming my way and I've made many changes beyond just my physical recovery. Change is good and starting something a-new is even better. I'm soon moving into my own place with my boyfriend and we've spent the whole summer renovating - I even snuck in a few fish tank friendly features.