New to Saltwater

RYOUNVS

Hey guys and gals,

As the title says, I'm somewhat new to the saltwater scene. I've had my tank going for a few months now. Ok... ok... I'm REALLY new to it still.

I'm still trying to piece together info on what I should and shouldn't be doing. To have a sump, or not to have a sump. Do I scrap my current non sump and get an overflow... or plug away with a fluval 304 and 405.

The last few days I've been looking and reading these posts and they have been an eye opener! Wow! There is so much to know to set up a good system. At this point I think I'd love to have a DT upstairs and a sump downstairs in the unfinished part of my basement.

Anyways, enough of my jabbering, I'm Jamie... looking forward to getting to know a bunch more people on here!

spyd

Super Active Member
Hello and welcome! A couple pointers. First off, ditch the Fluvals. They will do nothing but collect dietritus and become a nitrate factory. A sump is a fantastic idea. This way, you can hide all your equipment, run a quality skimmer and add more water volume to your system. Also, keep up with bi weekly (20%) and weekly (10%) water changes to reduce nitrates and phosphates.

If you are going to start a new setup, take your time and really think it through. Personally, i love having a basement sump as it takes the noise away and gives you some quality space to work in.

Pistol

Super Active Member
Donor
What is your tank size?
What are you planning, fish only, mixed reef, or dominate reef?
Yes, ditch the canister, not going to cut it.

Reef Hero

Super Active Member
Hi jamie! Welcome to TFT!

Agreed, ditch the fluvals....if you want to run medias then use a reactor with pump....and this would require a sump. So do a sump! :)
Run all your media and skimmer in the sump...nice place to put the heaters too.....nice place to put everything really.