Fox 82

hi I am new to saltwater and have a few questions about starting a new tank, if anyone could give me some friendly advice it would be great as I am having a hard time getting answers from anyone at my LFS and I am starting to feel like they will say anything trying to sell products you don't need or want, they are always rude and talk down to you like they are better then you and lol and im not spending $18 a LB on live rock from tanks with ich. So doing my own research I mostly I hear you need at least 1LB rock per gallon or more for a reef tank, but I am just wondering if you still need that much live rock if you only had one fish? or a very small bio-load? and the second question I have is if you add a sump/water volume to your system then would you need to also add more rock? lbs per gal? Any Friendly advice would be very helpful thanks

dale

the more rock the better either way.. there are many options for filtration with money being the only limit.. $3 a pound is average for live rock from another reefer.. take your time is by far the best advice to be given... and get the best skimmer you could afford.. save up for it if you need to...

Fox 82

I have a few different tanks that are empty I could go with, but I was wanting to set up a 20 gallon long as a small frag tank I want to keep it bare bottom with frag racks. I was thinking one small fish and try keeping some soft corals. but im wondering if I can use less then 20lbs of rock and put it to one side of the tank or in a small sump as I only want one fish and I would be doing regular water changes.

dale

10 lbs with adding 1 small fish after a couple months should be fine, other forms of filtering can also be used... but no one ever stops there...

nathan

Super Active Member
Website Affiliate