Phos Guard Pros And Cons

SpongeAl

There is nothing wrong with Rowa. It is a great product but it does require a reactor to be used efficiently. To me the big difference between GFO products and products like Phosguard is how they are used. Phosguard is best used in a bag in a sump, used in a passive way and contrary to what has been said it does not leach Phosphate....again from Seachem's site...

"It does not leach phosphate or silicate back into the water and may be removed, dried, and returned to service until exhausted. Continuous use of small quantities is better than intermittent use of larger quantities."

My concern with Phosguard was the small amounts aluminum oxide leached into the water. (As per Randy Holmes test) It is inconclusive as to how bad this may or may not be, but as a beginner I didn't want any more unknowns. This added with the limited soak time and inability to use it in a reactor made it a poor choice for me.

I still have the almost full container here, I've kept it for emergency use or if someone local wanted to use it up.

Seachem is a reputable company, phosguard has been around for a long time, so while it probably isn't terrible it's just not ideal for me.

Dan Cole

My concern with Phosguard was the small amounts aluminum oxide leached into the water. (As per Randy Holmes test) It is inconclusive as to how bad this may or may not be, but as a beginner I didn't want any more unknowns. This added with the limited soak time and inability to use it in a reactor made it a poor choice for me.

It is hard to know what the right answer is on that...I've researched it a few times over the years and couldn't find a definitive answer. With Marine Pure facing the same issue regarding aluminum oxide leaching maybe we'll get the answer at some point. In the meantime, if you have a reactor or don't mind adding one, your approach is certainly the safest one.

unibob

Distinguished Member
Website Affiliate