Rimless tank covers

J_T

Website Affiliate
Website
www.jtcustomacrylics.com
A while ago I was asked to make a tank cover for a rimless tank. Easy, piece of plexi... But that won't work on our systems. Too much light loss when the water condisates on it. So, I started playing with mesh. The first one I did for a member here was pretty good. I wanted to make them look even better. Took a couple trips to the laser cutter to perfect the design (warped the first two from the heat of the laser).

So, I know I am beating the owner of this lid to posting, but hey. I will let him describe it to you when he see's I have posted.

J_T

Website Affiliate
Website
www.jtcustomacrylics.com
Well that is weird... I put a link... Even previewed it to make sure it worked... Guess I need another drink...

Wow, had img tags with URL tags, and not sure what else... it was a mess. Fixed it, here it is.

Mesh-lid.jpg

J_T

Website Affiliate
Website
www.jtcustomacrylics.com
teebone110 link said:
Looks pretty good, so it actually drops inside the top frame- sweet!

Yes. The tabs that keep it suspended are only 1/8" thick. I was trying not to disrupt the nice look of rimless tanks.

There is a spot for the power cords to sit in the back corner too. I have one possibly coming up that will have a ehiem auto feeder bracket worked right into it. With the tube for the food to sink, not skim to the overflow.

J_T

Website Affiliate
Website
www.jtcustomacrylics.com
teebone110 link said:
more close up pics whenever you get the opportunity

This was a phone picture sent to me. The persons camera is out for cleaning/repairs. I am supposed to get some more pictures once the camera is back.

Anyone that was at the "Toronto Frags" show could have seen this. I had it on my table.

spyd

Super Active Member