Something Growing

yveterinarian

Super Active Member
I've been running GFO for several months... I was very surprised it was down to .1 its been flocculating between .25 to .4. I'll check it again in a couple days to make sure that was a good reading. If it is that low I wonder why I'm having this algae outbreak. The more I look at it the more I think it is hair algae and I think I've always had it (had the tank for almost a year and it was a used set up, about 8 years old) but its much worse now.
Often times when you have an overgrowth of algae you will have a "false low" for your phosphate readings because the algae is using it to grow.

mig

Website
www.cameroncollision.com
:(i should mention also that I had extremely high nitrates for many months last year. They have been reduced down now since last summer with the aid of nitraguard and have been near 0 for quite a while now. So now my nitrates and phophates (1.4 today and I changed my GFO )are reading low but i'm having this algae outbreak.. something is going on. The more I read up on this the more complex this hobby gets.. I like a challenge however time to do all the research and basically taking chemestry lessons is something that I am stuggling with.

monizb

Super Active Member
How long are lights on for u might have old bulbs as well have u changed theM out ? do u have a good clean up crew snails hermits ect

Reef Hero

Super Active Member
I just tested my phosphates and it measured 0.1 so I think I had the decimal in the wrong place when I typed 3.1 yesterday. Yes I am running gfo and carbon on separate reactors.

Haha yea gotta watch where you put the decimal when talking po4 in ppm. Have you confirmed an ID on the algae? GHA for sure?