Conversion of a 48" T5 to LED fixture

Boga

I have a 50 gallon tank that I use as refugium/frag tank/chaeto production. The algae occupy about 40% of the volume and it is my Nitrate "sponge". The other side of the tank has live rock and some egg crates for surplus corals.

My old 4x54W T5 is gone. The bulbs are almost gone. I will remove anything from inside and fill it with LED's, drivers, aluminum and lenses.

Thinking to have an aluminum plate 48"x4"x1/4" assembled in the housing, LED's mounted in two groups, left/right as shown in the picture, drivers somewhere inside, potentiometers for dimming, the existing fans will help with cooling.

So far I have just a sketch, but actively gathering ideas, thoughts, questions, feedback.

Last edited:

Victoss

Re: Conversion of a 48" T5 into a LED fixture

Looks good, I have no experience with LEDs used for algae growth though so you'll definitely want to make sure you research (which you probably already have) that before you make your order. I only say this because that's a lot of red, with it set up that way all the red might overpower the blues on the other side for your frags. You might just end up with a totally red sump.

curiousphil

Super Active Member

For the algae side you will want neutral white and reds.  Just replace the ones you have marked as RB with NW and you'll be good to go!

Boga

Victoss link said:
...... I only say this because that's a lot of red, with it set up that way all the red might overpower the blues on the other side for your frags. You might just end up with a totally red sump.

Valid concern. Indeed, I won't like red light to flood the frag side, even if is just reflected light. Probably I am going to end up using 40 deg lenses. I will try to create a sketch to see how direct light will illuminate both sides. At this point I don't know how to answer (fix) this.

curiousphil link said: