Coral Photography

Chef G

Hey guys recently got a steal of a deal on a Canon EOS Rebel T3 camera. Want to learn how to use it for taking pictures of my tank. Can any experienced DSLR users point me to any guides or threads?

ThePaliga

Best advice I can offer is to just get shutter happy. The more you play with it, the better you get. I started just by shooting my dogs. That was 3 years ago. Since then, I've shot half a dozen weddings, tons of tanks and anything you can think of. DPreview has a ton of info and has a solid community.

Dingets

Though I'm still learning myself (Canon T2i) a good place to start is place the camera on aperture priority (AV) and shoot with the lowest F stop you can get away with to blur your background. Use a tri-pod if you got one, and set the camera to a timer so that the movement of you pressing the button doesn't blur the shot. Turn your pumps off, to cut down on movement. Take a crap load of shots and weed them out on your computer monitor.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Bece13

Good advice from previous posts.

I'll start by saying that Photography is all about understanding the light and how to manipulate it to achieve the desire results. Everything else are just tools.