cycling tank????

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

stacey

So I am completely new to the saltwater life. I am currently trying to cycle my tank and I am so lost on what I should be doing. The tank is set up and running. My levels are 20 ammonia. And 0 nitrate. And 0 nitrate. The salt is good and the pH is good. What is my next step.

Neopimp

Website Doctor
Staff member
Website Admin
Wait ... Then wait.... The test ... Once your Ammon is gone nitrite is gone and nitrates are measurable .. The tank has cycled...  Good to start adding fish slowly. 

S

stacey

I have some snails and crabs in there now. When do I add the fish. After the levels are down or during the cycle.

dale

i would put a pinch of flake food every other day or so,, it will help prepare for a bioload./ jst my opinion..

yveterinarian

Super Active Member
Hi Stacey:

Here are two good sources for cycling your tank that should, hopefully help answer your questions.  The big thing to remember is not to add any fish until your ammonia is zero and your nitrite is zero. Here is the first one: http://www.thefragtank.ca/forum/index.php?topic=6.msg8#msg8  Here is the second one : http://www.seahorse.org/library/articles/cycling.shtml.  Personally, I used the ammonia method because I didn't want anything to suffer and I didn't have live rock or live sand due to my seahorse setup (my first saltwater tank).  I cycled my Reef tank the same way and it took approximately 6 weeks before the tank was ready to have any inhabitants.  You may find your snails and crabs will die during the cycling process unless you know someone who would be willing to keep them for you untill the cycle is complete.  Good luck and keep asking questions  :) :)

S

stacey

So my ammonia is 0 but nitrites are 5 and nitrates are 160. They have been like this for a week now. What should I be doing??

spyd

Super Active Member