First Fish. Already Could Have A Problem.

Goodfight

Bought a chromis and goby a couple days ago as my first two fish. Today I noticed the chromis has a white spot on its head. Could this be ick? Something else?

I'm totally new to saltwater.

6d29d7b85a88ed096b3b78c7a64f723f.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Luke.

Distinguished Member
I feel like that’s to big for ick , ick looks like a grain of salt , maybe he ran into some rock , it’s normal for new fish to do that at night .

TORX

Administrator
Staff member
Website Admin
Website
www.thefragtank.ca
I agree with probably not ich. Especially on a chromis. Probably a rock scuff or possibly damage that was not noticed from before purchase that is just surfacing now. Keep an eye on it.

New fish can be skiddish, it probably cramped itself in between rocks and lifted some scales. Definitely not Hole in the head, that takes a long time to show the holes.

Goodfight

Update: The next day it also lost its tail and then later that night died. I think it might have been fin rot.

EnzoCosta

Depending on the animals in the tank damsels are aggressive. If there are others they likely had territory already and any newbies are attacked.. this causes fight marks like the one I believe in the photo but also a lot of stress and exhaustion. If you have a new tank and any parameters fluctuate that only adds to their issue. Sadly they pass given their ordeals. As a once new person the compatibility of animals was an important and steep learning curve.

Good luck moving forward. Fish deaths are not good but do happen in newer tanks. Enjoy your tank and the new hobby!

Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk

EnzoCosta