Fragfest Dipping - Hitchhikers!

Salty Cracker

Administrator
Staff member
Website Admin
Okay, now that everyone is settling in with their new frags, I would like to take the oportunity to remind people to DIP YOUR FRAGS!!!

I've been using the bayer method for ~5 years now. Current haul today: 1 astrea starfish, 2 pods, 1 micro brittle star, and what I swear looks like a white flatworm. All of them in the bottom of the dip bucket and hopefully not in the DT :)

https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/bayer-insecticide-as-a-coral-dip.100496/

My main worry is always and forever, red bugs, but flatworms are a close second, followed by pest starfish (the tiny brittle starfish have never really done any harm in my tank but I've never had a astrea breakout...so far.

The more of us that dip, the better as a lot of us swap frags as the years go on. CoralRX isn't good enough, it doesn't get some crabs and it for sure doesn't get red bugs. Bayer just socks the crap out of everything as far as I've experienced so far.

Take the frag off the plug, and follow the directions above. I go for the full 10ml-4oz mix, I'd rather lose a frag than miss a pest. I lost the war with aiptasia in the last tank, the last thing I want is to be fighting something new here, so a friendly reminder to all. Happy Reefing!!

Salty Cracker

Administrator
Staff member
Website Admin
Red bugs are tough in that you have to dose the tank with interceptor to eradicate them, and that wreaks havok on shrimp, pods, hermits etc. I've never had flatworms so haven't had to battle them yet. Flatworm exit doesn't work?

Poseidon

Distinguished Member
Red bugs are tough in that you have to dose the tank with interceptor to eradicate them, and that wreaks havok on shrimp, pods, hermits etc. I've never had flatworms so haven't had to battle them yet. Flatworm exit doesn't work?

It does but typically the decaying /dead worms cause a problem on the bioload /p04 side of things

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk