Happy New Year!!

Josh

Hope 2017 is going to a better year than 2016!

Hi im Josh and ive been an avid fish lover for years now but just recently made the leap into salt water. Bit of background, I am a HVAC mechanic so im fairly mechanically sound which i have found is VERY helpful with this hobby.

I figured the best way to start saltwater would be start with a biocube 29. I found one used on kijiji and tore it down and scrubbed it and got everything back in pristine shape. Next i spent a month or two researching mods for my biocube. I started by changing the pump to a maxijet 1200. Next i ordered a media basket from INtank. Ive recently seen a bunch of DIY media racks and wonder if i could have trimmed some cost here. Alas their custom media rack actually works fairly well. I have a tunze9002 skimmer. I ordered a Stevesled retrofit kit and replaced my bulb lighting with a full spectrum LED setup. I put in 35 lbs of liverock and am running a "semi deep" sandbed (~3"). I have the leds programmed for full blue light and 1/2 white light on a 10 hour clock setup.

The planning process took over 3 months before i felt confident enough to jump in.

I installed my own RO/DI filter downstairs on my sink with a holding tank. It holds about half a 5g bucket so doing water changes and top ups works fairly easily. I got this wholesale pricing thru Noble trade a plumbing wholesale.

I have 2 small koralia power heads

Tank has been up since early June-ish.

1 thing i have noticed i am struggling with is remembering the name of the fish and all the marine animals, seems everything is in latin.

Stocking
2 - black and white clowns (with the oj faces)
1- royal gramma
1 - bangai cardinal

CUC
mostly nerites/ceriths/trochus/astrea mix (about 15-20 total)
1 emerald crab (starting to wonder if this was a bad idea)
1 cleaner shrimp
1 peppermint shrimp (aiptasia.....)

Thats my current setup for the most part.

I am working on a DIY project that i could use some feedback on.