hello everyone.... newbie here

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

stacey

Hey I am an extreme newby to the saltwater life. My husband bought me a tank and setup for Christmas finally after 3 years of asking. So I am gonna need all of the help I can get. Lol
I am looking forward to all the information everyone can give me.  ;D

J

jones02

Welcome stacey, everything you will need to know is all here. Ask lots of questions.

I

IrishPride

Hey Stacey!  Welcome to a great forum.  Lots of knowledge and experience here.
What did your husband get you for setup?
What type of tank are you looking to set up?  Mixed reef, FOWLR (fish
Only with liverock) Sps....etc.

These guys and gals here have tons of experience to help you bring your tank to life!

S

stacey

He got me a 55. Has great light set up. The 2 day ones and a night one and a moon one. Has a built in pump and filter. Has live rock that came with it. I am trying to cycle it but ammonia is staying at 20 nitrates are at 0. Salt is good and pH is good.

dale

hi stacy,, it could take days to weeks for your tank to cycle,, but it sounds like your off to a good start... some pics of your setup would make it alot easier for people to give you tips and suggestions on a sucsessfull startup, my suggestion for a tank style (and a guess of what your lookin for) would be a soft coral reef tank... for now... good luck and welcome..

unibob

Distinguished Member
Website Affiliate
Welcome welcome. Slow is key, you will hear this over and over. We will try and keep you on the right track and help you out with purchases and best places to shop. Enjoy your stay.

Edit: removed some negative content that was not needed.

mark0933

Hey Stacey, are your Drew's wife?  This is Mark, Travis from football's dad.  Drew might have told you I have a tank, if you need help feel free to give me a shout (but asking on here is great too, these guys are all great guys)

Mark

S

stacey