how do you acclimate your new fish

Status
Not open for further replies.

Giglio324

despite the fact i should be QT'ing new fish i was wondering how everyone acclimates new fish. Drip method. Cup of tank water into the bag every 10 minutes. how do you do it. i need to get this process perfect if i wanna buy any sort of delicate fish. thanks

Poseidon

Distinguished Member
i get a small bucket, put the fish with their own water in it. drip method until the small bucket is full, dump half the water then drip again til its full, then put them in the tank.

xxmurrxx

Float bag for 10-15
Drip method
2 similar dollar store containers, one placed inside the other drilled with small holes on the bottom. Empty water as needed and continue acclimation. Once it's acclimated for a while lift the inner container out until the water drains and place fish in the tank.

harleymike

Super Active Member
float for half an hour, mixing the water form the bag with tank water every so often.
Im no pro at this, but i havnt managed too kill anything yet.
its simple and seems too work. ;D

Thmh

Website Affiliate
I temperature acclimate the fish while its still in the bag for about 30mins, then i just use my hand to scoop the fish out gently and place  it in the tank. also turn off the lights and flow down low.

pulpfiction1

Reef Scavenger
drip method here,i just looked through our library here and was going to post a link but.............nothing. i couldn't find one there,maybe some one could post an acclimation guide there

Salty Cracker

Administrator
Staff member
Website Admin