Hydroid Invasion?

reeflover

I hope this is the right section of the forum to post this...
I observed for a month+ now that I have tons of staurocladia oahuensis on my tank's glass panels, those little pests are everywhere! ...and don't seem to disappear, they actually grow in numbers! (could it be because I feed my zoas a brine shrimp juice that I make with the blender?)
Is there anything that will eat the hydroids but not the corals? I was thinking of a seahare or slugs but I have no experience with those...
Any help would be greatly appreciate. Thanks.
014.jpg

Last edited:

unibob

Distinguished Member
Website Affiliate
Those are hydroid jellyfish vs a more common colonial hydroid which is more of an algae. Slow down on feeding and they should die off. You can suck them out off glass to help speed up process.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

reeflover

OK, I will feed my zoas once a week then. Do you think the floss filter catches this little jellyfish? I add a floss filter around the return pipe of my ReefOctopus HOB when I blast the live rock with the turkey baster and scrap the algae off the glass... I remove the filter in about 1 hour.

saltyair

yea stop feeding the corals for a while - they are pesky but with a filter sock and no food they will disappear, keep an eye out for your more sensitive fish being bothered by them. if you have a big breakout i would suggest shutting down the lights till they cycle out.

reeflover

yea stop feeding the corals for a while - they are pesky but with a filter sock and no food they will disappear, keep an eye out for your more sensitive fish being bothered by them. if you have a big breakout i would suggest shutting down the lights till they cycle out.

Thanks, I only have 1 clown fish in the whole tank, an acan and a zoa colony....

saltyair

ok, I'm learning here so be patient... is this a common pest and will they harm the corals and fish..