Just plain old fragging

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Gietz

Ok so I just got myself a frag rack and been fragging my Xenia and a couple zoas but I do have a couple question! Mushroom fragging has been pissing me of. I've got 10 to 15 purple, bright red an superman mushrooms floating around my tank and tank get them to stick to the plugs!  I've tried glue and elastic and on numerous time there gone the next morning. So how go I get them to stay? Next question. My Duncan colony is growing like a weed and I've noticed some heads are getting choked out by other head and are closed up.  I want a big colony but do I have to frag them to keep them health, like some ppl do to trees each year.

These are really newbie questions but as I'm a newb at fragging it fits lol

Darryl_V

Super Active Member
get your self some bone clippers and when trimming the shroom try to get a lil piece of rock so that you can glue it.  Alternatively you can set the mushrom on a  pile of rock rubble or crushed coral in a super low flow area and it will attach on its own.

The duncan should not be choking its self out.  It should just grow outwards....that said if you feel it would benefit from a trim...go a head.

R

reeffreak

you could also put crushed coral in a little tupperware container and take the mushrooms put them in there get some screen and an elastic band put the screen over top the tupperware and use the elastic band to keep them from goin out , eventually they will grab onto the crushed coral , put containter in low flow area if you have the room to do this . Im not sure about the duncans never fragged them before .