My plan so far

B

branw

We currently have 2 90 gallon tanks built in to our rec room wall. One is currently empty ( sold my cichlids) and the other currently is holdings freshwater fish. I know I have a lot to do and I have been researching online for a couple months. I am saving up for the big project and in the planning stages right now and am gonna need lots of help and suggestions.

I plan to run a sump in the basement and I think I am going to go this route. http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=WHn7_ZqZljs  I am not good with the plumbing part of this hobby but my husband has a much better understanding of how that stuff will work. I guess I should also mention I plan to get a 90 gallon sump and hook both tanks up to one sump. I would like to get the tank drilled and plumbing figured out because I really want to make a 3d background...something like this. www.youtube.com/watch?v=euTeBpM0nRQ

We are currently looking at plumbing parts and I guess our first question is where to buy bullheads and what size. Any suggestions or help is greatly appreciated

Neopimp

Website Doctor
Staff member
Website Admin
ooo Interesing plan :) Most people order the specialty plumbign from bulkreefsupply or mops or goreef.  Can be found locally at places but i cant tell you where.

How are you planning on doing the plumbing?  Type of setup, beananimal or herbie ?  Are you gogint o tye the tanks together then drop the lines to the sump or keep each tanks overflow lines seperate?

Pistol

Super Active Member
Donor
I had a similar overflow design that worked pretty well, I see problems with the one in the video, as algae and critters etc. get on it you are going to have a flood happening, also it must be removable for cleaning, perpendicular slots would be safer, personally I would recommend an overflow box or two and a beananimal drain.
Here's a pick of mine, 1 1/2" in a 90 gal

spyd

Super Active Member