New to Tanks in General

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mommy3

Good Day,

I am new to the entire fish and fish tank world ( which seems to be large and vast)... My children wanted fish so I got a tank and some fish... have been told about some of the things that I should look into doing with the tank and am looking to see what options I have available....

unibob

Distinguished Member
Website Affiliate
Welcome to the forum. Is it a saltwater or freshwater setup you have?

Look forward to seeing photos of your tank and fish.

M

mommy3

In staying with the fresh water tank for now ( looking to save some money and start a seperate salt water tank)  with the minimal fish that I have ( 55 gallon tank , 3 angel fish they are a little agressive, one shark not sure of the name and a pleco 7 inches long) I have I am looking to see what other things that are easy to maintain that I can add to the tank (remembering that the tank is for my kids and there is not alot of time that I can dedicate to the tank)

Thanks for all and any suggestions 

M

mommy3

My set up is very simple at themoment I have 3 angel fish about 3-4 inches in size, I have a  black shark not sure of the type of fish I got him for free and my son liked him he is about 4-5 inches in length, i have a pleco that is 8 inches in length thinking about changing him out for a smaller one. I have what I believe to be a 55 gallon tank. There are a few fake plants. This is a fresh water tank.

Thinking of either changing over what I already have ( from fresh to salt) because I was told that this would be easier than starting a brand new tank but that is an option for me as well. I started this for my children and just looking to see what I can do with this instead of just what I have. 

dale