New to thefragtank.ca

Status
Not open for further replies.
H

HappyHarry

Well. I've been reading all your posts and learning what I can. I am new to the salt water hobby, but so far enjoying every minute of it. I started out in Aug/11 with a little 35 gallon and quickly realized that I have the bug so everything got moved to the 75 gallon. (There goes the Budget).
The tank is fully cycled and a few fishies decided it was time to move in. Now I just need to finish the aqua-scape so that we can start adding the shrooms and Xenia

I hope to meet up with a lot of you throughout this process and share experiences.
Harry

Darryl_V

Super Active Member
Hey Happy,

Welcome to the club.  You will find out that this hobby can quickly become an obsession.  Looks like you are off to a decent start....but no sump?  I like the freshwater tank below but a sump is really going to help.  Are you planing a Fish only?  Do you have a skimmer?

Basically...can you tell us a bit more about your set up?

thanks

H

HappyHarry

The goal is to eventually have a sump/fuge. The transition from fresh water to salt water is a slow one. The stand that I have doesn't have the room for a sump so I am entertaining the idea of building my own stand (challenging in an apartment) or converting to a steel stand and closing it in. I'm adding another 30 lbs of rock this weekend so the DT is quickly running out of room.
I plan on having a few Xenia, Zoas and Mushrooms but with my lighting that will be about it.
I hope to find a Pulsing Xenia in the city this week but so far no luck. IA has a beautiful Blue Xenia that I still think is a nice piece for a starter.
I'm running the Seaclone 100 for a skimmer. After doing all the mods and a few trips to Rona, I've got it to a half a cup a day of gross $hit from the tank.

Darryl_V

Super Active Member
Well as you progress.....please take advantage of the experience of others because there can be a long hard learning curve.