nitrate 160ppm

mig

Website
www.cameroncollision.com
Im a complete newbie to salt water marine life (2 days) We just set up my tank this week and I bought a bit of test equipment tonite and low and behold my nitrate level is at 160ppm. I also have this white web or moss all over my live rock and coral. I have a 90 gal with maybe a  25 gal lower tank. salt is 1.022. I'm quite worried how to correct this before it gets out of control.
We used mostly the old water ( tank was established for several years before I bought it) and added maybe 20 gals RO water and 5 gals tap water. I bought new sand also. I lost 5 fish in the move as well which was sad. tomorrow i'm gunna do a part water change...maybe 20 gals. hopefully that helps.

dale

when you move a tank you stir up all the old death and decay that was very slowly decomposing , now it has polluted your tank,,
now i would say you need multiple small water changes over the next couple of weeks or so with ro water starting with a fairly large one right away,, you are in a tough predicament right now if your numbers are that high.. not much could survive
for now i would tell you you need lots of ro water and and cleaning maintainenece and any media reactors you could afford ,, bio-pellets , phosphate remover, poss carbon,, and def a good skimmer, and im guessing no new additions for months!! it sounds like you have a lot of work ahead of you and its a long process , patience is key and we can def help you along the way if you are willing to put in the effort...

good luck and welcome

mig

Website
www.cameroncollision.com