RO water verses tap

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

garmar

I would like to know why so many people use RO water instead of tap, what is the benifits of using water stripped of all  things, and then  adding minerals back? What does it benifit the fish and corals or  how does it, when the ocean is  not stripping  any of its minerals .

TORX

Administrator
Staff member
Website Admin
Website
www.thefragtank.ca
Re: RO water verses tape

RO vs tap water battle. Always interesting to see both sides. I am by no means an expert, but I am sure that you will recieve a lot of feedback here and it will be ultimately up to you to decide what you choose to use. I use RO.

C

Cal_stir

there are alot of things in tap water that you don't want in your tank.

Blob-79

Super Active Member

Cal_stir link said:
there are alot of things in tap water that you don't want in your tank.

that pretty much sums it up.

its not about stripping all the minerals out.only to add minerals back. I dont know about you, but i add nothing back. On water changes, the salt I use contains everything I want in the the water. As far as topping up for evaporation, if the water you are using contains any kind of contaniments like heavy metals like copper, nitrate,phosphates and or silicates you will have issues algae blooms, and difficulties maintaining water quality.

the only dosing I do is calcium, alk, and sometimes mag. Reason for me dosing these things is not because Im stripping it from my water. my corals are depleating it from my system

TORX

Administrator
Staff member
Website Admin
Website
www.thefragtank.ca

OK, here is my story. I used tap for a year. Suffered from hair algae and high nitrates, I also battled with ammonia.