what type of lid/covering are most using for their tanks?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sunnykita

Super Active Member
I just got my 135, I need to cover it, but am I going to affect the light reaching the corals with glass? I will have a 400 watt MH light hanging from the ceiling when it's in it's in place. I'd like to hear any and all different ways to cover the tank as well as pros and cons. I'm new and learning -  I have a young kitten who could end up swimming. Wouldn't be good. Obviously I'm just beginning, and don't have an automatic top up system for the tank yet. I'd love to hear all and any present ways of covering the tanks or not !
thanks
Sunnykita  ;D

yveterinarian

Super Active Member
Sunnykita:

I have mine covered with Eggcrate that you can get at Home depot in the lighting section.  I don't notice too much difference in the light and it allows for adequate gas exchange to reduce CO2 in the tank.  It has the added bonus of discouraging jumpers as well.  I don't think it will hold up to a kitten jumping on it though.  Just try not to have anything near it that the kitten could use as a jumping place to get on top of the tank.  My cats love to look at the tanks (we call them Cat-evisions) but they have never jumped onto one - thank goodness!

xxmurrxx

Eggcrate, or BRS sells a screen kit (the stuff can be purchased at a hardware store but it'll cost more in the end) same as a window screen basically.

I tried the glass cover once on one of my tanks and it was a pain cleaning it all the time.

sunnykita

Super Active Member
yveterinarian link said:
Sunnykita: