whats your tap water tds

Status
Not open for further replies.

nitro069

Like the title says, i am curious to see what everyone's tap water tds is and the performance (life span) of your ro/di filters are.

I have a whole house water purification system and my tap water tds is at about 105ppm(no idea what is was before i installed it).

I have been running with my ro/di unit for about 14 months now and the di cartridge is between 1/2 to 3/4 spent. my sediment and carbon filter are as white as the day i got them.

how often are you guys changing filters.

Neopimp

Website Doctor
Staff member
Website Admin
Sarnai Water is pretty decent from what I remeber
I did a bunch of lookign around when I started up in this hobby
... back when I( was thinking tap might be good enough.

Poseidon

Distinguished Member
My well water is about 350tds... I ran my first reef tank for 6 months off of that with softies, lps and fish and I had no algae issues or anything.

Neopimp

Website Doctor
Staff member
Website Admin
I had a 45 I did tap with .. no issues that I woudlnt run into using RODI.. but eventually it will happen :)

Duke

Distinguished Member
Website Affiliate
113 here straight from the tap.. In the summer it will rise a lot due to the extra stuff they add to the water

reefin

Here in Tillsonburg the last time I checked it was 235 TDS.

I have a prefilter before the softner and that is changed every 6 months the RODI filters are changed when my TDS before the DI chamber reads 10 - 15 TDS that takes about 6 to 7 months the DI is new in Nov, 2012 so it should last me the year

Salty Cracker

Administrator
Staff member
Website Admin
109 here.  A tank can go about 2 years on a london water, tap only setup before you start getting big problems.  I know that for a fact :)

paoul

nitro069 link said:
[quote author=paoul link=topic=4298.msg39484#msg39484 date=1360201567]
our water is pretty good at 12ppm tds it haven't changed any filters yet