Zoa Eating Bugs

Luke.

Distinguished Member
Hey everyone , I bought a nice Zoa coral that had 25+ heads on it , I did water tests like alk, calcium, phosphates , nitrates so on and everything is where it should be , I have a 20 gallon tank and do 20% weekly and run a e-shop 100 gallon protein skimmer on top to make the water the best I can, back to the zoa I caught 2 of the coral eating bugs they looked like lime green spiky bugs , and anyways due to money issues I decided that Id let mother nature take its corse and it ended up dying , look like it was shedding and melting , so it's been about 2-4 months of no Zias in my tank all I have is an bta , elegance , favia, lots of mushrooms, so would the bugs die off from no food? I just don't know if it's safe to get zoas again? Any feed back would help im new to this hobby , thanks luke !

Kman

Super Active Member
Most of those type of predators have specific food needs and more then likely die off when the food source is gone. With that being said without knowing the specific species it was, it is hard to tell. You could always get some cheap zoas to test. A wrasse will go a long way in eating things like that.

Do you have any pictures it?

Luke.

Distinguished Member
At this point it was all dead it was a cheaper coral I haven't seen any bugs in months and I was wondering if they only survive off zoas and I don't have any how long would it take for them to die off, the problem was I didn't drop the coral my last 8 coraks I dropped them all before they went it and no issues I have an elegance that like to wax or shedd white stringy goop, I don't know why I feed my coraks reef roids and also have a 24 wat fluval led light for my 20 gallon is that enough light to keep corals and for them to grow I wanted to get zoas like sunny ds and rostas , but too afraid of this bug eating it , should I be fine or still wait ?

TORX

Administrator
Staff member
Website Admin
Website
www.thefragtank.ca