Grafting a Nuclear Green and Purple Death Palythoa

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Dr BlueThumb

I allowed them to grow tightly together. then I took a razor and sliced them horizontally and a little vertically, all the while slightly chopping small chunk's of one onto the sliced pieces of the other.

Waited a few week's and up sprouted this:

Picture277.jpg

Decided to frag him onto a separate plug so I know on how the offspring will look over time.

Picture307.jpg

Picture311.jpg

old camera pics for now, I'm still learning to use my dslr.

The mother is over 3 month's old now.

since the pic I sliced the mother in half creating exact doubles

1 offspring is 75% green/25% purple, while the other look's like a tie die shirt pattern mostly purple. there is a third today in which is too early to tell but look's to be leaning on being more purple.

my next Graft will be the zoa which might require a different technique due to being less leathery like and more softer/slimier.

These are the one's I am attempting to graft:

Picture302.jpg

Picture303.jpg

Picture304.jpg

Grafted:

orange/green zoa
green/blue zoa
orange/blue zoa

The next paly will be these 2:

Picture301.jpg

candy apple red/everlasting gobstopper paly

my first attempt at grafting zoa's:

Picture313.jpg

Here I sliced off the head of a orange zoa and added it on top of the sliced area on blue zoa, in which had it's side sliced off. then added crazy glue on the side of the orange zoa head to hold it in place.

It was working until I got impatient with the slow grafting and tried to slice them into each other = fail

I'll try again and post the progress so we know for sure if grafting is possible with zoa's and not only some types of paly's.

D

Dr BlueThumb

Hey Rick how you doing?

They are all my pic's before a large feather duster worm that had one end sewed up when I bought it melted away ( no skimmer ) leaving me with a bad case of zoapox/bacteria infection or something.